Product has been added to the basket

Society awards

2020 winners

The Society is delighted to announce the names of the winners of its medals and funds and offers all its heartiest congratulations.

The awards will be presented at President's Day on Thursday 4 June 2020.

Nominations for 2021 awards

If you would like make a nomination for the 2021 awards, please contact Stephanie Jones, Awards Secretary, via The closing date will be Wednesday 30 September 2020.

Award citations and replies

Our awards

The following is a list of Society awards. Full descriptions and a list of past winners since 1831 can be found by clicking on the name of each award.

Career achievement awards

Service and/or outreach awards

Mid-career awards

Early career awards

  • Wollaston Fund: noteworthy published research in either or both 'pure' and 'applied' aspects of the science
  • Lyell Fund: noteworthy published research in soft rock studies
  • Murchison Fund: noteworthy published research in hard rock studies
  • William Smith Fund: excellence in contributions to applied and economic aspects of geoscience
  • President’s Awards: significant early career promise and future leader potential

Awards, medals and funds brochure

Awards Brochure

See our awards brochure for more information on the Society's awards, funds and medals.

Contact the Awards Secretary

Stephanie Jones

Email: stephanie.jones@

The Geological Society
Burlington House
London W1J 0BG