Product has been added to the basket


Rudolph Glossop (1902-1993) is credited with bringing together academics and practitioners in engineering geology in the UK; he was involved in setting up the Engineering Group in 1964 and, in 1966, the Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology, having previously also help set up the Geotechnical Society and the journal Geotechnique in 1948.

Glossop was the eighth Rankine Lecturer in 1967; he was also Chairman of the Engineering Group (1965-68) and Vice President of the Geological Society (1969). Glossop’s contribution to engineering geology is recognised by the Engineering Group of the Geological Society through the prestigious Glossop Lecture and Glossop Award, established in 1997.

Glossop Lecture

The Glossop Lecture was initiated as the most prestigious lecture of the Engineering Group of the Geological Society, to be presented by an invited eminent engineering geologist. The requirement for the presentation is that it should highlight the contribution made in the application of engineering geology to civil engineering. This may be achieved by utilizing a subject that illustrates a particular expertise or summarizes a significant contribution to the science by the invitee. The Glossop Medal Nomination Guidance Notes outline the process and requirements for nominating someone for the Glossop Medal Lecture.

Nominations are now accepted for the Glossop Lecture and Medal from Academia and Professional practice for candidates who:

  • Are considered technical experts in their field of Engineering Geology
  • Are actively engaged with the Engineering Geology community
  • Have made a significant contribution to advancing the cause and science of Engineering Geology

Candidates are likely to be a 'senior' academic or industry figure with greater than 30 years' experience, although nominations will be considered for candidates with less experience who can demonstrate their credentials in the above criteria.

The Glossop Medal Nomination Guidance Notes linked outline the process and requirements for nomiating someone for the Glossop Medal Lecture.

Previous presenters of the Glossop Lecture

Glossop Award

The Glossop Award is a prestigious award made annually to an outstanding young engineering geologist or geo-environmentalist. The successful candidate will present their work at the Glossop Meeting, before the Glossop Medal lecture.

Previous recipients of the Glossop Award

  • Peter Phipps (1997) Terrain evaluation for high speed rail - the Channel Tunnel Rail Link as a case study
  • Ian Duncan (1998) Mussenden Temple cliff stabilisation
  • Jonathan Hart (1999) Rehabilitation of the Halsema Highway, Philippines
  • Andrew Porter (2000) Engineering Geology in earth dam design and construction: an example from North Derbyshire
  • Chris Martin (2001) Engineering geological investigation at Dabhol LNG Power Project, India
  • Fleur Loveridge (2002) The engineering geology of a landslide in the Gault
  • James Gelder (2004) Managing risk due to solution features at the A34-M4 junction improvements scheme, Newbury, UK
  • Andrew Mills (2005) Novel approaches to mitigation of peat slide risk, an example from Channerwick, Shetland
  • Joseph Appleby (2006) Reedness river bank stability – an engineering geological approach
  • Anna Pearson (2007) Reduce, reuse, recycle: engineering geology of a sustainable housing development, Eastern Quarry, Kent
  • Seth Pollak (2008) Geologic interpretation for design of caverns in an urban setting – A case study of the Seven Line Extension Project, New York
  • Stacy English (2009) Rockfall protection of Jamestown Wharf, St Helena
  • Dougal Mason (2010) Engineering geology for Project Wind Wind, New Zealand
  • Sophie Gibb (2011) Application of presplit blasting to final faces in hard rock quarries
  • Thomas Clifford (2012) Assessment and design mitigation for rockfall in quarries
  • Arthur Cheung (2013) Landslip prevention and mitigation for study area Stubbs Road, Hong Kong
  • Joshua Morland (2014) Cooper's Hill Landslide: Building on previous experience
  • Yung Loo (2015) Engineering Geological Solutions for CERN's underground infrastructure
  • Scott Davidson (2016) Adding value through identifying risk and opportunity
  • Gemma Sherwood (2017) Construction of Hinkley Point C
  • Jonny Neville (2018) What role will technology play in the future of Engineering Geology?
  • Thomas St John (2019) Communication of risk and opportunity in engineering geology
  • Josh Dunlop (2021) The impact of groundwater, including extreme weather and climate change, on Middlewich Eastern Bypass
  • Carla Martin-Clave (2022) The current climate emergency and salt caverns as a storage solution for the Energy Transition
  • Luke Johnstone (2023) Differentiating Fill and Natural Soft Clays - The Value of Desktop Studies in Building a Geological Model

Engineering Group Award

The award is for those in their early to mid career and is made for significant contribution in research, publication or practice in the field of Engineering Geology.

Previous recipients of the Engineering Group Award

Year Recipient Year Recipient Year Recipient Year Recipient
 1985 R Chandler  1992 J Cripps  2001 D Giles  2017  C Martin

 1986 M Sanders  1993 A Burnett  2003 I Sims  2019
 I Duncan
 1987 M Clayton   1994  D Norbury   2008  L Donnelly   2023  U Lawrence
 1988  T Mellors   1995  R Allington   2010  J Skipper   
 1989  M Culshaw   1996  T Spink   2012 D Giles    
 1990  D Gordon   1997  P Jackson  2013 H Scholes

 1991  S Hencher   1999  A Bowden   2014 T Radford


IAEG Prizes

As the UK National Group of the International Association of Engineering Geology (IAEG), the Engineering Group recognises international contribution and achievement in the field of engineering geology. Both the Hans-Cloos Medal and Richard-Wolters Prize will be awarded in 2010. From the IAEG website:

The Hans-Cloos Medal is the senior award presented by IAEG, given to an engineering geologist of outstanding merit in commemoration of the "founder of geomechanics". The recipient should therefore be a person of international repute who has made a major contribution to engineering geology in his/her written papers or to the development of engineering geology and/or the IAEG in their own area.

The Richard-Wolters Prize specifically recognises meritorious scientific achievement by a younger member of the engineering geology profession (less than 40 years old on 1 January 2010) and is awarded to honour Dr. Wolters' many contributions to international understanding and co-operation.