Product has been added to the basket


   At the forefront of energy geoscience...

Each year the Group makes awards in recognition of achievements and talent of individuals within the energy geoscience industry. 

2021 nominations

Nominations for the 2021 Energy Group Awards are now CLOSED. Nominations for 2022 will open in early 2022.  

Energy Group Medal Award

The Energy Group Medal is an annual award presented to individuals with a geoscience background who have made an outstanding contribution to the energy industry. 

Nomination form

Guidance notes

Early Career Energy Geoscientist Award

The Early Career Energy Geoscientist Award is an annual award presented to recognise Energy Geoscientists in the early stages of their career. Nominees must be within ten years (full time equivalent) of the award of their first degree in geoscience or a cognate subject, and either have already made a significant contribution to the understanding of Energy geoscience or be an emerging talent who is making a significant impact in the field. 

Nomination form

Guidance notes 

2019 winners

2019 saw the Petroleum Group celebrate thirty years of its Annual Dinner and Awards. 2019's award winners were:


Petroleum Group Medal Award

Kitty Hall 

Kitty Hall is an exceptional geologist and company builder who has spent her career in oil exploration. As founding Chief Executive, she has built two different businesses to provide specialist technology and services to oil companies. She is a previous Chairman of the Petroleum Group, past member of the PESGB Council twice and has served on the boards of oil company Det Norske Oljeselskap (Aker BP) and seismic companies Seabird Exploration plc. and Polarcus ASA.

Kitty’s service to the industry is far reaching and those whom she has touched are privileged to benefit from her enthusiasm, her willingness to share her experience and genuine motivation to support and develop others. Most recently this has included mentoring of younger females in the industry, speaking at events to encourage young women into STEM subjects and sharing her story in order to encourage others to be bold and take opportunities.

Young Petroleum Geoscientist Award

Scott Liebnitz

Scott is an exceptional geologist currently working for Shell in Aberdeen. Over time, Scott has grown in confidence and ability, learning from the projects he has worked and seeking out opportunities for development through volunteering for additional assignments, maximising coaching opportunities and being acutely aware of his technical competence gaps such that he always has a plan to fill them.

Scott is not afraid to seize opportunities, however challenging. An example is his participation in a Wellsite Geology programme which saw him undertake 8 months of rotation in Russia.

Scott has also been Subsurface Lead for a project which involved aligning the London based Exploration team with Development in Aberdeen. Scott played a key role at the interface of the two teams, steering the 30th license round successfully and confidently and ensuring that the development organization was fully aligned with the promise made by the exploration team.

Past Award Winners

Lifetime Achievement

2018 Jen Brzozowska
2017 Tony Doré
2014 Richard Hardman

Petroleum Group Medal

2018 Richard Swarbrick
2017 Jonathan Craig
2016 Gro Haatvedt
2015 Alastair Fraser
2014 Mike Daly

Silver Medal

2013 Peter Rose
2012 John Underhill
2011 Malcolm Brown
2010 Joe Cartwright
2009 Bruce Levell
2008 Tony Hayward
2007 Tony Dore
2006 Roy Franklin OBE
2005 Mike Watts
2004 Alan Booth
2003 Dick Selley
2002 Richard Hardman
2001 Harold Reading
2000 Ken Glennie
1999 David Roberts
1998 John Martin
1997 Robert Stoneley
1996 Malcolm Pattinson
1995 John Brooks
1994 Nigel Anstey
1993 Ian Maycock
1992 Myles Bowen
1991 Victor Colter

Young Petroleum Geoscientist of the Year

2018 Camille Burgess
2017 David Riley
2016 Benjamin Taylor
2015 Ceri Griffith-Swain
2014 Mehdi Yusifov
2013 Fiona Fairhurst

Young Explorer

2011 David Fisher
2010 David Jones
2009 Barnaby Roome
2008 Jeremy Lynch
2007 Kristan Reimann
2006 Bryan Ritchie
2005 John Smallwood
2004 Mark Dalrymple
2003 Simon Stewart