Product has been added to the basket

Contaminated Land Group

Contaminated Land logoThe investigation and management of contaminated land is a multi-disciplinary science bringing together different geological specialisations (e.g. hydrogeology, engineering geology and geochemistry) together with other non-geological professionals (e.g. chemists, toxicologists, engineers).

This puts geoscientists at the forefront of efforts to develop the conceptual site models upon which robust and defensible contaminated land risk assessments depend, and makes the Geological Society the natural home for those specialising in this sector.

The Contaminated Land Group has the following aims:

  • To hold meetings, conferences, seminars, webinars, training courses and workshops
  • To represent and promote the Geological Society and its science strategy with respect to land contamination issues
  • To promote and support those seeking chartership (CGeol or CSci) as land contamination specialists
  • To promote and support those seeking to join the SiLC, RoGEP and SoBRA registers and taking part in the Land Forum-backed 'National Quality Mark Scheme'

Early career financial assistance

Each year the Geological Society awards a limited number of professional development bursaries of up to £2,000 to early career geologists, via the Distinguished Geologists Memorial Trust.

Keep in touch

Our events

No results found. Try to refine your search query



Dave Jones (Natural Resources Wales)

Vice Chair

Katherine Ashdown (Jacobs)


Anna Hitchmough (RSK)


Amy Juden (Arup)

Publicity Lead

Jenny Lightfoot (Arup)

Web Editor

Aaron Morley (Huntingdonshire District Council)

Other members

  • Becky Corps (Curtins)
  • Paul Dennis (Arup)
  • Angela Haslam (Environment Agency)
  • Paul Nathanail (Land Quality Management)
  • Nik Reynolds (Geolsoc Council)
  • Mike Smith (M A Smith Environmental Consultancy)
  • Chris Swainston (Soils Limited)
  • John Cleland (Gavin & Doherty Geosolutions)
  • Ruth Easterbrook (NHBC)
  • Alison Carruthers (Mott MacDonald)

Early Career Sub-Committee


Katherine Ashdown (Jacobs)

Other Early Career Sub-Committee members

  • Abi Brooks (Vertase FLI)
  • Molly Brown (IGE Consulting)
  • Clay Durrant (Environment Agency)
  • Kristian Fox (Atkins)
  • Matthew Wright (Golder)
  • Harriet Wood (Jacobs)