Product has been added to the basket


The Society is governed by a Council of 23 members, including the President, up to three Vice-Presidents and four honorary secretaries. Council members are elected by the Fellowship.

Council is chaired by the President, who is elected for a two-year term. It meets five times each year.

All members of Council are bound by the Society’s Declarations of Interests policy.

Members of Council 2021/2022

Click on the names below to read a short biography of each member of Council.

Name Expertise Background
Dr Michael Daly (President) Continental Tectonics and Resources Academe
Mrs Joanna Alexander Geoscience, Communications, Culture Change Industry
Prof Mark Allen Tectonics Academe
Ms Ruth Allington (President Designate) Engineering Geology, Resource Geology, ESG, Mining and Quarrying Sector, Dispute Resolution Industry 
Dr Neil Frewin  Petroleum Geology  Industry 
Dr Jennie Gilbert Volcanology Academe
Dr Joel Gill (Secretary, Foreign and External Affairs) Social Geology, Disaster Risk Reduction, Sustainable Development Government
Dr Kathryn Goodenough Mineral Resources, Igneous Petrology, Crustal Evolution Government
Mr Martin Griffin Geotechnical Engineering  Industry 
Prof James Griffiths (Secretary, Professional Matters) Engineering Geology Academe
Dr Michael Kehinde Hydrogeology Government
Mr Peter Loader  Geoscience Education  Academe 
Mr Andrew Moore Contaminated Land Industry
Dr Keith Myers (Treasurer)  Petroleum Geology
Dr Amanda Owen Sedimentology  Academe 
Dr John Perry Engineering Geology Industry
Mrs Sarah Scott Hydrogeology Government
Ms Gemma Sherwood Engineering Geology Industry
Miss Jessica Smith (Vice President, Regional Groups) Engineering Geology Industry
Prof Robin Strachan (Secretary, Publications) Tectonics, Geochronology Academe
Miss Lucy Thomas  Chartered Geologist and Specialist in Land Condition  Industry 
Dr Alexander Whittaker (Secretary, Science) Tectonics and Landscape Dynamics Academe
Mrs Lucy Williams Petroleum Geology Industry

Council meetings


  • 30 June 2021
  • 22 September 2021
  • 24 November 2021
  • 02 February 2022
  • 06 April 2022
  • 22 June 2022

Council meeting minutes