Product has been added to the basket

Hydrogeological Group


hydro-logo.jpgThe Hydrogeological Group is a specialist group of the Geological Society of London, which represents the science of hydrogeology and the hydrogeologists that practise that science.

It currently has over 1,000 members, of which around 350 have already attained Chartered status. The Hydrogeological Group represents a major professional interest in British hydrogeology.

The aim of the Hydrogeological Group is to advance the study and practice of hydrogeology by:

  • Holding meetings (including joint meetings with other organisations)
  • Encouraging education and research 
  • Encouraging students to consider careers in hydrogeology 
  • Representing and promoting the hydrogeological aspects of the Geological Society internationally 
  • Assisting the Geological Society in its representation of professional hydrogeologists

More about the Hydrogeological Group is available on their website.


Whitaker Medal Award 2019

The Hydrogeological Group was pleased to be able to award the 2019 Whitaker Medal to Professor Rick Brassington at the 2019 Ineson Meeting, held at Burlington House in November.

Rick is a highly popular winner who was recognised both for his longstanding and wide-ranging contribution to hydrogeology, the Geological Society, and the geoscience community as a whole and, more specifically, for his authorship of Field Hydrogeology, a default classic resource for over 30 years.

Younger Medal

The Hydrogeological Group is pleased to announce that from 2020, in addition to the Whitaker Medal that has been awarded for many years, we will be introducing a new medal dedicated to our late colleague Professor Paul Younger.

Paul, who died in 2018, was a great influence to many people in our professional community. The Hydro Group felt that a new medal, recognising the good work that hydrogeologists undertake throughout their careers, would be a fitting way to remember him.

The Hydro Group will be seeking nominations for the inaugural Paul Younger Medal during the summer of 2020, and the winner will be presented with the medal at the Ineson Meeting in Burlington House in November 2020. It will be awarded for specific examples of outstanding contribution to hydrogeology.

The existing Whitaker Medal will, from 2020, be awarded in recognition of longstanding service to the community.

Our events

No results found. Try to refine your search query

Social media



Rolf Farrell
Environment Agency, Leeds
Tel: 020 30256723

Vice Chair

Mark Lee
Atkins Global, Leeds
Tel: 0113 3066043


Kate Lambert-Smith
Dwr Cymru Welsh Water, Newport 
Tel: 01633 963 192

Funding Officer

Alex Gallagher
Groundwater Science, Shrewsbury
Tel: 01743 276 100


Claire Howarth
Mott MacDonald, Croydon
Tel: 020 87743650

Other members

Alex Davis

Dr Hamdi El-Ghonemy

Mark Fermor

Simon Cook

Dan Welch

Matthew Ascott

Alex Crow

Bryony Osbourn

Ewan Parsons

Jared West

Hannah Fraser

Elanor Ward

Norline Martin