Product has been added to the basket

Bruce Yardley appointed Chief Geologist

Bruce Yardley (Leeds University) has been appointed Chief Geologist by The Radioactive Waste Management Directorate (RWMD) of the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority (NDA).

Chartership news

Chartership Officer Bill Gaskarth reports on a projected new logo for use by CGeols, advice on applications and company training schemes

Climate Change Statement Addendum

The Society has published an addendum to 'Climate Change: Evidence from the Geological Record' (November 2010) taking account of new research

Cracking up in Lincolnshire

Oliver Pritchard, Stephen Hallett, and Timothy Farewell consider the role of soil science in maintaining the British 'evolved road'

Critical metals

Kathryn Goodenough* on a Society-sponsored hunt for the rare metals that underpin new technologies

Déja vu all over again

As Nina Morgan Discovers, the debate over HS2 is nothing new...

Done proud

Ted Nield hails the new refurbished Council Room as evidence that the Society is growing up

Earth Science Week 2014

Fellows - renew, vote for Council, and volunteer for Earth Science Week 2014!  Also - who is honoured in the Society's Awards and Medals 2014.

Fookes celebrated

Peter Fookes (Imperial College, London) celebrated at Society event in honour of Engineering Group Working Parties and their reports

Geology - poor relation?

When are University Earth Science departments going to shed their outmoded obsession with maths, physics and chemistry?

Nancy Tupholme

Nancy Tupholme, Librarian of the Society and the Royal Society, has died, reports Wendy Cawthorne.

Power, splendour and high camp

Ted Nield reviews the refurbishment of the Council Room, Burlington House

The Sir Archibald Geikie Archive at Haslemere Educational Museum

You can help the Haslemere Educational Museum to identify subjects in Sir Archibald Geikie's amazing field notebook sketches, writes John Betterton.

Top bananas

Who are the top 100 UK practising scientists?  The Science Council knows...

Society Awards 2012

The Society is delighted to announce the names of the winners of its medals and funds and offers all its heartiest congratulations. Details of the President’s Awards will be announced later.

The Awards will be presented at President’s Day on 13 June 2012.


And the award ...goes to
Wollaston Medal  Christopher Hawkesworth 
Lyell Medal  Eric Wolff 
Murchison Medal  Frank Spear 
William Smith Medal  William Aspinall 
Coke Medal  Richard Aldridge 
Coke Medal  Robin Strachan 
Bigsby Medal  Geoffrey Duller 
Sue Tyler Friedman Medal  Cherry Lewis 
R H Worth Prize  David Ward 
Wollaston Fund  Bridget Wade 
William Smith Fund  Jamie Pringle 
Lyell Fund  Daniela Schmidt 
Murchison Fund  Russell Wynn 
Distinguished Service Award  Ian Jackson 
Distinguished Service Award  Simon Winchester OBE