Product has been added to the basket

President's Day

President's Day at Burlington House 

President's Day is an annual event held by the Geological Society in June each year.

The day begins with the Annual General Meeting, followed by a short talk from the recipients of the major medals, an Awards Ceremony and presentations by the Wollaston, Lyell, Murchison and William Smith medallists.

The next President's Day will be held in June 2020 and all Fellows are welcome to attend.

Previous President's Days

President's Day 2019 icon

President's Day 2019

Talks by Edward Stolper, Frances Wall, Marian Holness and Nick Kusznir.

Awards Nominations

President's Day 2018

Talks by Terry Plank, Julian Dowdeswell, Janne Blichert-Toft and Peter Dolan.

Volcanos landscape

President's Day 2017

Talks were given by the Medallists -  Lyell Medal: Rosalind Rickaby, Murchison Medal: Tim Elliott and William Smith Medal:  John Walsh

Presidents Day 2016 Thumbnail

President's Day 2016

Watch the talks were given by Lyell, Murchison and William Smith medallist and Wollaston medallists.


President's Day 2015

Talks by Colin Ballantyne, Geoffrey Wadge, Anthony Dore and James Jackson.