Product has been added to the basket


Petroleum Group At the forefront of petroleum geoscience...

Each year The Petroleum Group makes awards in recognition of achievements and talent of individuals within the oil exploration sector.

2019 Nominations

Nominations for 2019 will are now open.

Petroleum Group Medal Award

The Petroleum Group Medal (formerly Silver Medal) is an annual award presented to individuals with a geoscience background who have made outstanding contributions to the petroleum industry. It can be awarded for excellence in petroleum geoscience and/or management of oil-finding activities. 

Petroleum Group Medal Nomination form and guidelines 

Early Career Petroleum Geoscientist Award

The Early Career Petroleum Geoscientist Award is an annual award presented to recognise Petroleum Geoscientists in the early stages of their career. Nominees must be within ten years (full time equivalent) of the award of their first degree in geoscience or a cognate subject, and either have already made a significant contribution to the understanding of petroleum geoscience or be an emerging talent who is making a significant impact in the field.

Early Career Petroleum Geoscientist Award Nomination forma and guidelines

The winners will be presented with their medals at the Petroleum Group Annual Dinner on the 20th June 2019.

Submissions must be made by 22nd March 2019

2018 Winners

These prestigious medals are awarded at the Petroleum Group's Annual Dinner held at the Natural History Museum, which is one of the most well attended events of the Petroleum sector calendar. This year's award winners are:


Lifetime Achievement Award

Jen Brzozowska

Jen has worked for the 'Department of Energy’ in all its various guises for 39 years and is currently working for the Oil & Gas Authority as Head of Exploration Licence Management. The UK's petroleum licensing system in its current form is largely a result of Jen's leadership, and aspects of this system have been copied in other parts of the world. 

Jen has always been a keen advocate of stewardship of licences and resources, ensuring that work programmes are delivered, and unused acreage is handed back for relicensing. It was the desire to see full utilisation of these national assets that resulted in Jen leading the highly successful Fallow Initiative.

Petroleum Group Medal Award

Richard Swarbrick  

Richard has a global reputation as a geopressure specialist and has made a distinctive, fundamental and profound impact in terms of health and safety of the industry, developing and disseminating an understanding of the causes of over-pressure and geomechnics and their prediction in advance of drilling. 

Young Petroleum Geoscientist Award

Camille Burgess

Remarkably, it is little more than 5 years since Camille graduated from Imperial with an MSc in Petroleum Geoscience. Her achievements in that short period are considerable and show her to be “an emerging talent, making a significant contribution” to industry, as the award requires. Hired straight out of college by Hansa Hydrocarbons, she has played a vital role within the company in unlocking a significant new play in the Netherlands through the discovery last year of Ruby.

Past Award Winners

Lifetime Achievement

2017 Tony Doré
2014 Richard Hardman

Petroleum Group Medal 

2017 Jonathan Craig
2016 Gro Haatvedt
2015 Alastair Fraser
2014 Mike Daly
Silver Medal
2013 Peter Rose
2012 John Underhill
2011 Malcolm Brown
2010 Joe Cartwright
2009 Bruce Levell
2008 Tony Hayward
2007 Tony Dore
2006 Roy Franklin OBE
2005 Mike Watts
2004 Alan Booth
2003 Dick Selley
2002 Richard Hardman
2001 Harold Reading
2000 Ken Glennie
1999 David Roberts
1998 John Martin
1997 Robert Stoneley
1996 Malcolm Pattinson
1995 John Brooks
1994 Nigel Anstey
1993 Ian Maycock
1992 Myles Bowen
1991 Victor Colter

Young Petroleum Geoscientist of the Year

2017 David Riley
2016 Benjamin Taylor
2015 Ceri Griffith-Swain
2014 Mehdi Yusifov
2013 Fiona Fairhurst

Young Explorer
2011 David Fisher
2010 David Jones
2009 Barnaby Roome
2008 Jeremy Lynch
2007 Kristan Reimann
2006 Bryan Ritchie
2005 John Smallwood
2004 Mark Dalrymple
2003 Simon Stewart