Product has been added to the basket

Bruce Yardley appointed Chief Geologist

Bruce Yardley (Leeds University) has been appointed Chief Geologist by The Radioactive Waste Management Directorate (RWMD) of the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority (NDA).

Chartership news

Chartership Officer Bill Gaskarth reports on a projected new logo for use by CGeols, advice on applications and company training schemes

Climate Change Statement Addendum

The Society has published an addendum to 'Climate Change: Evidence from the Geological Record' (November 2010) taking account of new research

Cracking up in Lincolnshire

Oliver Pritchard, Stephen Hallett, and Timothy Farewell consider the role of soil science in maintaining the British 'evolved road'

Critical metals

Kathryn Goodenough* on a Society-sponsored hunt for the rare metals that underpin new technologies

Déja vu all over again

As Nina Morgan Discovers, the debate over HS2 is nothing new...

Done proud

Ted Nield hails the new refurbished Council Room as evidence that the Society is growing up

Earth Science Week 2014

Fellows - renew, vote for Council, and volunteer for Earth Science Week 2014!  Also - who is honoured in the Society's Awards and Medals 2014.

Fookes celebrated

Peter Fookes (Imperial College, London) celebrated at Society event in honour of Engineering Group Working Parties and their reports

Geology - poor relation?

When are University Earth Science departments going to shed their outmoded obsession with maths, physics and chemistry?

Nancy Tupholme

Nancy Tupholme, Librarian of the Society and the Royal Society, has died, reports Wendy Cawthorne.

Power, splendour and high camp

Ted Nield reviews the refurbishment of the Council Room, Burlington House

The Sir Archibald Geikie Archive at Haslemere Educational Museum

You can help the Haslemere Educational Museum to identify subjects in Sir Archibald Geikie's amazing field notebook sketches, writes John Betterton.

Top bananas

Who are the top 100 UK practising scientists?  The Science Council knows...

Awards 2013 announced

The Society is delighted to announce the winners of its medals and funds, and offers all its heartiest congratulations, writes Dawne Riddle.


The Awards will be presented at President’s Day on 5 June 2013.   Wollaston Medal: Kurt Lambeck; Lyell Medal: Paula Reimer; Murchison Medal: Peter Kokelaar; William Smith Medal: Martin Jackson; Coke Medal: Ian Sims; Coke Medal: Robert Thomas; Aberconway Medal: Peter Burgess; Bigsby Medal: Jackson Christopher; Prestwich Medal: Not awarded; Sue Tyler Friedman: Henry Frankel; R H Worth Prize: Hans Hagdorn; Wollaston Fund: James Wookey; William Smith Fund: Marie Edmonds; Lyell Fund: Siwan Davies; Murchison Fund: Alison Rust; Distinguished Service Award: Richard Moody; President’s Awards: Nicolas Brantut, Matthew Pound.