Product has been added to the basket

Awards, Grants and Bursaries

Society Awards

The Geological Society of London has been awarding medals for significant achievement in the Earth sciences since 1831, when its Senior Medal, the Wollaston, was first awarded to William Smith.

The Society now grants a large range of awards, including medals and funds, every year.  Our Awards page has a list of these, along with the citations and replies from award winners since 2001.

Nominations for 2018 Awards

Fellows of the Society are invited to submit nominations for the Society’s Awards for 2018 to the Awards Committee. Nominations should ideally be endorsed by several supporters to demonstrate wide support in the community. Proposers and supporters should not be from the nominee's institution or company (with the exception of the Lyell, Murchison, William Smith and Wollaston Funds – see Regulation), although it may be appropriate to obtain a statement from a company on an individual's contribution in the case of Awards in applied areas.

Specialist and Regional Group Committees can make nominations. These need only be signed by the Chair of the Group, who should make it clear that they are representing the whole Committee. The Awards Committee will retain its discretion to move candidates to other categories of award if appropriate.

The criteria for the medals and funds are given below. All medals, awards and funds are usually awarded annually by Council (or by the President in the case of the President’s Awards) though no award will be made for a specific medal, award or fund if no candidate with sufficient achievements is proposed that year or as Council determines.

Nominations must be sent to Stephanie Jones no later than Friday, 29 September 2017 using the forms below and can be sent by email to or by post to

The Awards Secretary
Geological Society
Burlington House
W1J 0BG.

Nomination forms

Guidance Notes for Awards

Nomination Form for a Medal

Nomination Form for a Fund

Nomination Form for the RHWorth Award

Nomination Form for the Distinguished Service Award