Product has been added to the basket
Item has been added to bibliography

Janet Watson Meeting 2017: The Future of Contaminated Land Risk Assessment; stakeholder perspectives

06 - 07 November 2017
Add to my calendar
Event type:
Organised by:
1. Geological Society Events, Contaminated Land Group, 2017 Year of Risk
The Geological Society (Burlington House)
Event status:

CLG logo

With 2017 being the ‘Year of Risk’, the Contaminated Land Group are proud to be hosting this year’s Janet Watson meeting.

The conference will explore emerging science, technologies and guidance in the contaminated land industry, told from the viewpoint of all the key stakeholders: the site owner, consultant, contractor and regulator.

Keynote talks will be provided by accomplished industry leaders and the conference will provide a platform for scientific developments and innovative projects presented by the students, academics and early-career professionals working on them.

Conference Themes

  • Innovative investigation and risk assessment
  • Understanding, managing and communicating risk
  • Emerging remediation technologies
  • New guidance, standards, accreditation and the evolving role of the regulator
The programme will be varied, including workshops, an expert panel discussion and presentations by speakers from a variety of backgrounds. Whilst offering all delegates the opportunity to become up to date with many of the latest technologies and guidance, this conference will also be an excellent opportunity for networking, and particularly beneficial for early-career professionals who are interested in or are currently working towards chartership in contaminated land


Register online or download the registration form in the 'Downloads' box and return it to the Conference Office.

Corporate Affiliates and GSL Associated Societies can register at a reduced rate.

Associated Societies members should choose the Other Societies booking option when registering. 

It is possible to attend for just one of the days at a reduced rate, or alternatively, attendance can be split between 2 colleagues from the same organisation, over the 2 days. For either of these options, please contact Naomi Newbold.  


Key note speakers to include:
  • Claire Dickinson (Independent)
  • Judith Nathanail (Land Quality Management Ltd)
  • Simon Cole (AECOM)
  • Hazel Gibson (University of Plymouth)
  • Mike Smith (Independent)
  • Gareth Leonard (Regenesis)
  • Jon Lloyd (University of Manchester)
  • Sarah Mortimer (The Environmental Protection Group Ltd)
  • Matthew Pearce (National Grid Plc)
  • Quentin Hulm (Cornelson)


The early-career sub-committee of the Contaminated Land Specialist Group:
  • Katherine Hunt (Jacobs) Chair
  • Amy Juden (Arup) Secretary
  • Sarah Hey (Hydrock)
  • Clay Durrant (Environment Agency)
  • Kristian Fox (Atkins)
  • Molly Brown (Integra Consulting)


Registration rates

£ 100.00
£ 150.00
£ 100.00
£ 100.00
£ 75.00
£ 75.00

Geolsoc Contact

Naomi Newbold

The Geological Society
Burlington House
Piccadilly, London
United Kingdom

Event sponsors