Product has been added to the basket
Shopping Basket
Basket is empty
Item has been added to bibliography

Adventures Through Deep Time: The Central Mississippi River Valley and Its Earthquakes

Product Code: USPE455
Series: GSA Special Papers
Author/Editor: Edited by Roy Van Arsdale
Publication Date: 21 September 2009
Add a review


Special offer price £13.00 (usual price £33 / GSA&GSL £25) 

GSA Special Paper 455.

This volume presents the geologic history of the central Mississippi River Valley and the surrounding area from the Precambrian through the Holocene. Its focal point is the New Madrid seismic zone that both threatens and intrigues us. The book begins with a brief presentation of the geologic history of the southeastern United States, and subsequent chapters expand upon particular periods of time, discussing the most important regional geologic events and how those events affected the central Mississippi River Valley. The concluding chapters discuss the geology and seismology of the New Madrid seismic zone. This work is written to engage a wide range of geologists, from beginners to those who are thinking of conducting research in the Mississippi River Valley. The author’s casual writing style makes the book a pleasure to read while also updating readers on the geology of the Mississippi Valley and its earthquakes.


Type: Book
Ten Digit ISBN:
Thirteen Digit ISBN: 9780813724553
Publisher: GSA
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 107
Weight: 0.60 kg


1. Geologic history of the central Mississippi River Valley area in a nutshell
2. Precambrian rocks — Foundation to the central Mississippi River Valley
3. Late Proterozoic and Early Cambrian rifting of the southeastern United States
4. Paleozoic time in the Mississippi River Valley
5. Appalachian–Ouachita Mountains and their foreland basins
6. Pangea rips apart — The formation of the Gulf of Mexico
7. Cretaceous-Tertiary formation of the Mississippi Embayment and Mississippi River
8. Sediments of the Mississippi Embayment
9. The central Mississippi River Valley and its great earthquakes of 1811–1812
10. What’s next?


There are currently no reviews available for this product.

Please login to submit review.

Back to search results

You pay
£ 13.00 each

List price: £ 13.00