Product has been added to the basket

Committee Members

The expertise of the commission members are given in brackets after each member.


Prof. Andy Gale (Orbital cyclity, Cretaceous stratigraphy, sequence stratigraphy and isotope stratigraphy)


Prof. Colin N. Waters (Carboniferous and Anthropocene stratigraphy)                      

Publications editor

Dr. Tiffany Barry  (Geochemistry, radiogenic dating)

Alphabetical listing of members

Dr. Paul Bown (Triassic-Cenozoic calcareous nannofossils, biostratigraphy, Secretary Subcommission on Jurassic stratigraphy)

Dr Angela Coe (Sequence stratigraphy and the geological timescale)

Dr Dan Condon (Isotope geochemistry, U-daughter geochronology, Earth System Science)

Prof. John Cope (Jurassic ammonites & biostratigraphy, Ordovician bivalves, Ediacaran faunas, Palaeogeography of UK)         

Prof. Philip Gibbard (Quaternary stratigraphy, sedimentation, Secretary General International Commission on Stratigraphy)

Dr. John Gregory (Jurassic-Tertiary,Foraminifera, Radiolaria, Diatom and Silicoflagellates stratigraphy)

Prof. David Harper (Ordovician stratigraphy and palaeontology, Lower Palaeozoic, President International Commission on Stratigraphy)

Prof. Stephen Hesselbo (Jurassic-Tertiary; carbon isotopes, Chair Subcommission on Jurassic Stratigraphy)

Dr. Mark W. Hounslow  (Magnetostratigraphy, Mesozoic and Palaeozoic magnetic chronology, Palaeomagnetism, magnetic sediment tracing; Chair Subcommission on Triassic Stratigraphy).

Dr. Andrew Kerr (Oceanic plateaux, Large Igneous Provinces)                         

Prof. John E. Marshall  (Devonian events, Palaeoclimate, Palynology,  Hydrocarbon source rocks, Thermal maturity measurement, Chair Subcommission on Devonian Stratigraphy)

Dr Michael J. Oates (Petrophysics, petroleum related aspects)

Prof. Paul Pearson (Micropalaeontology, paleoceanography, geochemistry, evolutionary patterns and processes)

Dr John H. Powell (Jurassic and Carboniferous stratigraphy of the UK, Phanerozoic of Jordan, especially Cretaceous)

Prof. Colin Reeves (Application of geophysical mapping to geological reconnaissance and resource exploration around the world, magnetic anomalies, land and sea and re-assembly of Gondwana)

Dr David Ray (Silurian stratigraphy, sequence stratigraphy, carbon isotopic excursions)

Prof. Graham Shields-Zhou (Precambrian, geochemical and isotope analysis of early Earth evolution, Chair Subcommission on Cryogenian Stratigraphy)

Dr Matthew Wakefield (Ostracods, micropalaeontology, biostratigraphical correlation, multivariate techniques for correlation, applied palaeoecology and links to sequence stratigraphy)

Prof. Mark Williams (Cambro-Ordovician stratigraphy and biostratigraphy, Anthropocene stratigraphy)

Mark Woods (Mesozoic macropalaeontology, Upper Cretaceous faunas, Carbon isotopes for global correlation and palaeoenvironmental interpretation, geophysical log correlation)

Prof. Jan Zalasiewicz (Graptolite biostratigraphy, Sedimentology, Dating mudrock successions, Anthropocene stratigraphy,  Chair Subcommission on Stratigraphic Classification)