Product has been added to the basket

Society Award winners 2016 announced

The Society is delighted to announce the winners of its medals and funds, and offers all its heartiest congratulations.  




Prof Susan Brantley

Pennsylvania State University

Wollaston Medal

Prof John Underhill

Heriot-Watt University

Lyell Medal

Prof Jon Blundy

University of Bristol

Murchison Medal

Dr Michael de Freitas

Imperial College

William Smith Medal

Prof Patience Cowie

University of Bergen

Coke Medal

Prof Monica Grady

Open University

Coke Medal

Prof Liane Benning

University of Leeds & University of Potsdam

Bigsby Medal

Dr Henry Emeleus

University of Durham

Prestwich Medal

Dr Richard Howarth

University College London

Sue Tyler Friedman Medal




Mr Edmund Nickless


Distinguished Service Award

Dr Catherine Mével

Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris

Distinguished Service Award

Mr Paul Denton

British Geological Survey

R H Worth Prize

Dr Mitchall D’Arcy

Imperial College

Wollaston Fund

Dr Anja Schmidt

University of Leeds

William Smith Fund

Dr Tracy Aze

University of Leeds

Lyell Fund

Dr Craig Magee

Imperial College

Murchison Fund




President’s Award winners will be announced at a later date.  Awards will be presented at President’s Day, 8 June 2016.