Product has been added to the basket

Society awards 2018

Wollaston MedalThe Society is delighted to announce the names of the winners of its medals and funds and offers all its heartiest congratulations writes Steph Jones.

The Awards will be presented at President’s Day on 6 June 2018. President’s Award winners will be announced at a later date. 





Prof Terry Plank

Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University

Wollaston Medal

Prof Julian Dowdeswell

Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge

Lyell Medal

Prof Janne Blichert-Toft

CNRS and Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon

Murchison Medal

Dr Peter Dolan

Co-Founder Director - Ikon Science Limited

William Smith Medal

Prof Jan Zalasiewicz

University of Leicester

Prestwich Medal

Prof Robert Holdsworth

Durham University

Coke Medal

Mr David Shilston


Coke Medal

‘Girls into Geoscience’

Plymouth University

R H Worth Award

Prof Simon Poulton

University of Leeds

Bigsby Medal

Dr Charlotte Adams

Durham University

Aberconway Medal

Dr Owen Weller

University of Cambridge

Wollaston Fund

Dr Amanda Owen

University of Glasgow

Lyell Fund

Dr George Cooper

University of Leeds

Murchison Fund

Dr Hannah Hughes

University of Exeter, Camborne School of Mines

William Smith Fund