Product has been added to the basket

President's Day 2018

RogersNickresized.JPGThe winners of the Society’s medals and funds for 2018 were announced in the February edition:

Terry Plank (Wollaston Medal); Julian Dowdeswell (Lyell Medal); Janne Blichert-Toft (Murchison Medal); Peter Dolan (William Smith Medal); Jan Zalasiewicz (Prestwich Medal); Robert Holdsworth (Coke Medal); David Shilston (Coke Medal); Girls into Geoscience (RH Worth Award); Simon Poulton (Bigsby Medal); Charlotte Adams (Aberconway Medal); Owen Weller (Wollaston Fund); Amanda Owen (Lyell Fund); George Cooper (Murchison Fund); Hannah Hughes (William Smith Fund).  Recipients of the 2018 President’s Awards will be announced in the May issue.

Awards will be presented at President’s Day on 6 June 2018.  On that day there will be research talks by the four senior medallists:  Terry Plank (Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University); Julian Dowdeswell (Scott Polar Institute, University of Cambridge); Janne Blichert-Toft (CNRS and École Normale Supérieure de Lyon); Peter Dolan (Ikon Science Limited) on their current or most recent work.

Picture: Professor Nick Rogers,  President-Elect of The Geological Society, who will assume the presidency on June 6.

All Fellows are welcome to attend the events of President’s Day, though lunch with the Award winners will incur a charge.  Full details of charges and instructions for registration will be published in the May issue, and online.