Product has been added to the basket

The Wollaston, Lyell, Murchison and William Smith Funds

Recipients must be within ten years (full time equivalent) of the award of their first degree in geoscience or a cognate subject.

The Wollaston, Lyell and Murchison Funds are awarded to contributors to the Earth Sciences on the basis of noteworthy published research. The William Smith Fund is awarded for excellence in contributions to applied and economic aspects of geoscience.

The 2017 Fund winners are:
  • Russell Garwood (Wollaston Fund)
  • Richard Walters (William Smith Fund)
  • Susannah Maidment (Lyell Fund)
  • and Sami Mikhail (Murchison Fund)