Product has been added to the basket

Awards and Funds winners

The Society is delighted to announce the names of the winners of its medals and funds and offers all its heartiest congratulations.   The President’s Award winners will be announced at a later date.  

The Awards will be presented at President’s Day on 6 June 2018.

Wollaston Medal
Prof Terry Plank

Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, 
Columbia University

Lyell Medal

Prof Julian Dowdeswell

Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge

Murchison Medal

Prof Janne Blichert-Toft
CNRS and Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon

William Smith Medal
Dr Peter Dolan
Ikon Science Limited

Prestwich Medal
Prof Jan Zalasiewicz
University of Leicester

Coke Medal
Prof Robert Holdsworth
Durham University

Mr David Shilston

R H Worth Award
Girls into Geoscience
Plymouth University
Bigsby Medal
Prof Simon Poulton
University of Leeds

Aberconway Medal
Dr Charlotte Adams
Durham University

Wollaston Fund
Dr Owen Weller
University of Cambridge

Lyell Fund 
Dr Amanda Owen
University of Glasgow

Murchison Fund
Dr George Cooper
University of Durham

William Smith Fund
Dr Hannah Hughes
University of Exeter, Cambourne School of Mine
President’s Award

President’s Award

Nominations for 2019 Awards

Details of how to submit nominations will be on the web site in April 2018.  The closing date will be 28 September