Product has been added to the basket

south west


The South-West Regional Group (SWRG) is well established and active, celebrating its 30th Anniversary in January 2005. It aims to provide a local regional focus for all Geological Society Fellows and activities. It arranges a wide-ranging programme of meetings and activities to meet the requirements of its active membership, including ProGeo - an annual one-day conference for professional geoscientists in the South West – usually held in October. The group also runs a schools competition for all secondary schools teaching any aspect of the Geosciences.

Venues for meetings include locations in Exeter, Plymouth and in Cornwall.

The SWRG welcomes new members, as well as guests and co-professionals, to join its activities and play a part in its continuing development. Any members with an interest in joining our Committee – either as an officer or as a part of the wider Committee Group – should contact the Chair, Ruth Easterbrook, in the first instance

We now have a page on Facebook and Linked-In - follow us and join in the discussions!

Our Events

Your search for events returned the following 4 results.

Showing 1 to 4 of 4 results

Chartership with the Geological Society

04 March 2015

Venue: Portland Sq, Devonport Lecture Theatre, Plymouth Uni

  • Evening Meeting

GeoCareers Fair - South West Regional Group

04 March 2015

Venue: Sherwell Exhibition Hall, Plymouth University

  • Workshop
  • Social Event

South West Regional Group geo-hazard workshop and schools competition 2015

11 March 2015

Venue: Plymouth University, Drake Circus, Plymouth. Devon. PL4 8AA

  • Workshop
  • Lecture

The Current Status of Geological Screening for Disposal of Radioactive Waste

18 March 2015

Venue: Portland Square, Plymouth Lecture Theatre, Plymouth University, Drake Circus, Plymouth, PL4 8AA

  • Lecture
  • Evening Meeting
Showing 1 to 4 of 4 results

SWRG Activities



Alan White


Professor Malcolm Hart


Jonathan King


Henry Lister

Web Editor

Gordon Neighbour

University Reps

Sarah Boulton
University of Plymouth

Sam Hughes
University of Exeter, Camborne School of Mines 

Committee Group

Ruth Easterbrook

Neil Forrow

Matthew Owen

Rod Smith

Phil Stephenson

Carl Sellers

James Walker

Andy Merit

Laura Bacon

Heather Smyly