Product has been added to the basket

Society Awards 2017

The Society is delighted to announce the names of the winners of its medals and funds and offers all its heartiest congratulations.   The President’s Award winners will be announced at a later date. 




Prof Richard Alley

Pennsylvania State University

Wollaston Medal

Prof Rosalind Rickaby

University of Oxford

Lyell Medal

Prof Tim Elliott

University of Bristol

Murchison Medal

Prof John Walsh

University College Dublin

William Smith Medal

Dr Mark Anderson

Plymouth University

Coke Medal

Prof Ian Fairchild

University of Birmingham

Coke Medal

Prof Caroline Lear

Cardiff University

Bigsby Medal

Prof Mott T Greene

University of Washington

Sue Tyler Friedman Medal




Dr Richard Hinton

University of Edinburgh

Distinguished Service Award

Mr Ian Kenyon


Distinguished Service Award

Rotunda – The William Smith Museum of Geology


R H Worth Prize

Dr Russell Garwood

University of Manchester

Wollaston Fund

Dr Susannah Maidment

University of Brighton

Lyell Fund

Dr Sami Mikhail

University of St Andrews

Murchison Fund

Dr Richard Walters

University of Durham

William Smith Fund



President’s Award



President’s Award


The Awards will be presented at President’s Day on 7 June 2017.  Put it in your diary! Stephanie Jones