Product has been added to the basket

Papers & Resources

""

Minutes and Resources are available from the links below. Resources from before May 2015, when the Committee was known as CHUGD, are archived.

Minutes & Meeting Papers:

 
Newsletters & Reports, Safety Policies & Links:

University Geoscience UK membership and committee

""

Membership of University Geoscience UK is open to all departments/schools in higher education institutions with teaching and/or research interests in geoscience. 

A membership fee is set annually, presently £60. Departmental/school representation at meetings is open to respective heads of department/school or their delegated substitutes. 

Meetings

Meetings of University Geoscience UK are normally held twice a year, in spring and autumn. We aim to alternate the venue between Burlington House in London, and a university campus somewhere outside London. Additional meetings can be called at any time, and the Executive may meet more frequently. It is the responsibility of the Executive, through the Chairman and Secretary, to ensure that agendas are completed and circulated well in advance of meetings.

Minutes are taken during meetings, and these are circulated to all departmental/school heads and executive members as soon as possible thereafter. Correspondence to or from University Geoscience UK is through the Chairman and/or the Executive Secretary. Important items of correspondence are circulated between the two. Minutes of the meetings can be downloaded from the passworded Members' Page.

Current members

Institution UGUK member(s) and role(s)
""
Department of Geology and Petroleum Geology
University of Aberdeen
Prof Randell Stephenson
r.stephenson@abdn.ac.uk

Prof David Jolley
d.jolley@abdn.ac.uk
""
Institute of Geography and Earth Sciences
Aberystwyth University
Prof Nick Pearce (UGUK rep)
njp@aber.ac.uk

Prof Geoff Duller (UGUK rep)
ggd@aber.ac.uk
""
School of Geography, Earth and Environmental Sciences
University of Birmingham
Prof Tim Reston (Head of School)
t.j.reston@bham.ac.uk
""
School of Environment and Technology
University of Brighton
Prof Norman Moles
n.moles@brighton.ac.uk
""
Department of Earth Sciences
University of Bristol
Prof Michael Walter (Head of School)
m.j.walter@bristol.ac.uk
""
Department of Earth Sciences
University of Cambridge
Dr David Norman (Director of Teaching)
dn102@cam.ac.uk
""
Darwin College
University of Cambridge
Prof Mary Fowler (Master)
master@darwin.cam.ac.uk
""
School of Earth, Ocean and Planetary Sciences
Cardiff University
Prof Ian Hall (Head of Department)
hall@cardiff.ac.uk
""
Department of Natural Sciences (Geoscience)
University of Derby
Dr Sian Davies-Vollum (UGUK Exec: Executive Secretary) (Deputy Head of Department)
s.davies-vollum@derby.ac.uk

Prof Hugh Rollinson (UGUK rep)
h.rollinson@derby.ac.uk
""
UCD School of Geological Sciences
University College Dublin
Prof Frank McDermott (Head of Department)
frank.mcdermott@ucd.ie
""
Department of Earth Sciences
Durham University
Prof Jon Gluyas
j.g.gluyas@durham.ac.uk

Prof Colin MacPherson (Head of Department)
colin.macpherson@durham.ac.uk

Andy Aplin (UGUK Exec: Member)
a.c.aplin@durham.ac.uk
""
School of Environmental Sciences
University of East Anglia
Prof Kevin Hiscock (UGUK rep)
k.hiscock@uea.ac.uk
""
School of Geosciences
University of Edinburgh
Dr Susan Rigby (Head of Department)
sue.rigby@ed.ac.uk
""
Camborne School of Mines
University of Exeter in Cornwall
Prof Kip Jeffrey (Head of Department)
c.jeffrey@exeter.ac.uk
""
Department of Earth and Ocean Sciences
National University of Ireland
Dr Peter Croot (Head of Department)
peter.croot@nuigalway.ie
""
Department of Geographical and Earth Sciences
University of Glasgow
Prof Martin Lee (Head of School)
martin.lee@glasgow.ac.uk

Dr Gordon Curry
gordon.curry@glasgow.ac.uk

Amanda Owen (UGUK Exec: Member)
amanda.owen@glasgow.ac.uk
""
Institute of Petroleum Engineering
Heriot-Watt University
Professor John Underhill
j.r.underhill@hw.ac.uk
""
Department of Geography and Environmental Sciences
University of Hertfordshire
Dr Tim Sands (Head of Department)
t.b.sands@herts.ac.uk
""
Department of Geography, Environment and Earth Sciences
University of Hull
Dr Rebecca Williams (UGUK Exec: Member)
rebecca.williams@hull.ac.uk
""
School of Earth Sciences and Geography
Keele University
Dr Stuart Egan (UGUK rep)
s.s.egan@esci.keele.ac.uk
""
School of Geography, Geology and the Environment
Kingston University
Dr Andrew Swan (Head of Department)
swan@kingston.ac.uk
""
Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Prof Graham Harris (Head of Department)
g.p.harris@lancaster.ac.uk
""
School of Earth and Environment
University of Leeds
Prof Simon Bottrell (Head of Department)
s.bottrell@leeds.ac.uk

Graham McLeod (UGUK Exec: Member)
g.w.mcleod@leeds.ac.uk
""
School of Geography, Geology and the Environment
University of Leicester
Prof Mike Lovell (UGUK Honorary Exec (Advisory Only))
mtl@leicester.ac.uk

Prof Richard England (Head of Department)
hodgeology@le.ac.uk

Sarah Davies (UGUK Exec: Member)
hos-geoggeolenv@leicester.ac.uk
""
Department of Earth and Ocean Sciences
University of Liverpool
Dr John Wheeler (Head of Department)
johnwh@liverpool.ac.uk

Prof Peter Burgess (UGUK Exec: Member)
peter.burgess@liverpool.ac.uk
""
School of Earth and Planetary Sciences
Birkbeck College, University of London
Dr Charles Underwood (Head of Department)
c.underwood@bbk.ac.uk
""
Department of Earth Science and Engineering
Imperial College London
Prof Mark Sephton (Head of Department)
m.a.sephton@imperial.ac.uk
""
Department of Earth Sciences
Royal Holloway, University of London
Prof Jürgen Adam (Head of Department)
jurgen.adam@rhul.ac.uk
""
Department of Earth Sciences
University College London
Prof Lars Stixrude (Head of Department)
l.stixrude@ucl.ac.uk
""
School of Earth and Environmental Sciences
University of Manchester
Prof Kevin Taylor (UGUK Exec: Treasurer) (Head of Department)
kevin.taylor@manchester.ac.uk
""
School of Natural and Environmental Sciences/School of Engineering
Newcastle University
Prof David Manning (UGUK rep)
david.manning@newcastle.ac.uk
""
Department of Earth Sciences
The Open University
Dr Arlene Hunter (Head of Department)
environment-earth-ecosystems-hod@open.ac.uk
""
Department of Earth Sciences
University of Oxford
Prof Gideon Henderson (Head of Department)
gideonh@earth.ox.ac.uk
""
School of Earth, Ocean and Environmental Sciences
University of Plymouth
Dr Mark Anderson (UGUK Exec: Chair) (Head of School)
manderson@plymouth.ac.uk

Prof Gregory Price (Head of Department)
g.price@plymouth.ac.uk
""
School of Earth and Environmental Sciences
University of Portsmouth
Dr Nick Koor (UGUK Exec: Vice-Chair) (Head of School)
nick.koor@port.ac.uk
""
School of Ocean and Earth Science
University of Southampton
Prof Tim Minshull
tmin@noc.soton.ac.uk

Prof Steve Robert (Head of Department)
sr1@noc.soton.ac.uk
""
Energy and Environment Research Institute
University of South Wales
Dr Ian Skilling (Course Leader, BSc Geology)
ian.skilling@southwales.ac.uk
""
School of Geography and Geosciences
University of St Andrews
Prof Tony Prave (Head of Department)
ap13@st-andrews.ac.uk
""
British Geological Survey
Prof John Ludden (Director)
jludden@bgs.ac.uk
""
The Geological Society
Pete Loader (Chair, Education Committee)
peteloader@yahoo.co.uk

Alicia Newton (Director of Science and Communications)
alicia.newton@geolsoc.org.uk

UGUK Exec Committee

Chair

Mark Anderson (m.anderson@plymouth.ac.uk)
University of Plymouth
Devolved responsibility: Public engagement; government policy and external relations (including UKRI)

Vice-Chair

Nick Koor (nick.koor@port.ac.uk)
University of Portsmouth

Executive Secretary

Sian Davies-Vollum (s.davies-vollum@derby.ac.uk)
University of Derby

Treasurer

Kevin Taylor (kevin.taylor@manchester.ac.uk)
University of Manchester

Members

Andy Aplin (a.c.aplin@durham.ac.uk)
Durham University
Devolved responsibility: Research agenda, including infrastructure and facilities and postgraduate research

Peter Burgess (peter.burgess@liverpool.ac.uk)
University of Liverpool
Devolved responsibility: Recruitment & outreach (to schools and parents)

Sarah Davies (hos-geoggeolenv@leicester.ac.uk)
University of Leicester
Devolved responsibility: Undergraduate teaching

Graham McLeod (g.w.mcleod@leeds.ac.uk)
University of Leeds
Devolved responsibility: ECR

Amanda Owen (amanda.owen@glasgow.ac.uk)
University of Glasgow
Devolved responsibility: ECR

Rebecca Williams (rebecca.williams@hull.ac.uk)
University of Hull
Devolved responsibility: Employability agenda & relations with employers (geoscience and non-geoscience, including teacher training)

""

Officers

Office bearers of University Geoscience UK (the University Geoscience UK Executive) currently comprise Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary (with the support of an administrative secretary), treasurer, applied geology representative and large departments representative. 

Where possible, the makeup of the University Geoscience UK Executive should reflect the broad diversity of institutional type and location and so remains flexible. 

Membership of the Executive is normally drawn from present or past heads of department and is confirmed by election at a full meeting of University Geoscience UK. 

Travel expenses are normally available to University Geoscience UK office bearers.


Past Chairs

Past Chairs include:

  • Prof Malcom B Hart (University of Plymouth) 1996-1999
  • Dr Gordon Walkden (University of Aberdeen) 2000-2001
  • Dr Andrew Parker (University of Reading) 2001-2003
  • Prof Kathy Whaler (University of Edinburgh) 2003-2005
  • Professor Andy Rankin (University of Kingston) 2005-2007
  • Prof Jon Davidson (University of Durham) 2008-2010
  • Prof Mary Fowler (Darwin College, University of Cambridge) 2010-2012
  • Prof Mike Lovell (University of Leicester) 2012-2015
  • Prof Tim Minshull (University of Southampton) 2015-2018