Plate Margins

The surface of the earth is divided into seven major and eight minor plates.

figure 3 
Major and minor tectonic plates

Each plate is in motion relative to its neighbours, resulting in geological activity at the plate boundaries. It is also possible, though less common, for geological activity to take place in the middle of plates.

There are three types of plate boundaries: divergent, convergent and conservative.




Mid plate tectonic activity