Product has been added to the basket

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee reports to Council.

Terms of Reference

  • To consider nominations received from the Fellowship for the Society's awards, medals and funds, and to encourage additional nominations as necessary;


The Awards Committee will be chaired by the President and comprise up to 18 other Fellows, no more than five of whom shall be members of Council.

The membership of the Committee is determined by Council annually, and will be drawn so as to achieve a balance of expertise across the whole of the geosciences, including the applied science.  

Method of Working

The Committee will meet as and when necessary at least twice a year.

Committee Members


  • Mr Malcolm Brown (President)

Other Members

  • Prof William Austin
  • Prof Mike Bickle 
  • Mr Graham Brown
  • Prof Andy Carter
  • Prof Joe Cartwright
  • Prof Jonathan Craig
  • Dr Quentin Crowley 
  • Dr Marie Edmonds 
  • Mr David Giles
  • Dr Simon Hughes 
  • Prof Mike Lovell 
  • Prof Conall Mac Niocaill
  • Dr Ted Nield 
  • Prof Eva Valsami-Jones 
  • Dr Matthew Wakefield
  • Dr Alex Whittaker
  • Prof Marjorie Wilson


  • Dr Richard Hughes (Executive Secretary)
  • Ms Stephanie Jones (Administrative Secretary)