Product has been added to the basket

The Professor W Dearman Young Author of the Year Award

Each year, the Journal makes an award for the best paper from a young author. The prize is two years free membership to the Geological Society, an SP (or EGSP) of your choice and an invitation to join the QJEGH Board as a guest editor for 1 year.

The only criterion for the award is that you should have been under the age of 35 when the paper on which you were an author was originally submitted.

If you wish your paper to be considered for this award, you must email your date of birth and the title of the paper you wish to be considered for to

Previous winners are:

2017: A. Smith (Current and future role of instrumentation and monitoring in the performance of transport infrastructure slopes; with J. A. Smethurst, S. Uhlemann , C. Wooff, J. Chambers, P. Hughes, S. Lenart, H. Saroglou, S. M. Springman, H. Löfroth and D. Hughes) 

2016: R. M. G. Harley (The impact of hydrogeology on the instability of a road cutting through a drumlin in Northern Ireland; with D. A. B. Hughes, G. R. T. Clarke & S. L. Barbour)

2015: C.M. Hirst (The late field life of the East Midlands Petroleum Province; a new geothermal prospect?; with J. G. Gluyas & S. A. Mathias)

2014: S. H. Bricker (Controls on the basin-scale distribution of hydraulic conductivity of superficial deposits: a case study from the Thames Basin, UK; with J. P. Bloomfield)

2013: L. J. Seward (Remoulding of the Mercia Mudstone Group around CFA pile shafts; with S. E. Stallebrass & J. Skipper)

2012: R.L. Terrington (Benefits of a 3D geological model for major tunnelling works: an example from Farringdon, east–central London, UK; with D. T. Aldiss, M. G. Black, D. C. Entwisle & D. P. Page)

2011: A. Jiménez-Madrid (Comparative analysis of intrinsic groundwater vulnerability assessment methods for carbonate aquifers; with F. Carrasco, C. Martínez & J.F. Vernoux)

2010: Stuart A. Dunning (The integration of terrestrial laser scanning and numerical modelling in landslide investigation; with N.J. Rosser & C.I. Massey)

2009: Joseph Quinn (Understanding the recession of the Holderness Coast, east Yorkshire, UK - a new presentation of temporal and spatial patterns; with L Philip & W Murphy)

2008: N. Boylan (Peat slope failure in Ireland; with P. Jennings & M. Long)

2007: J. Walstra (Historical aerial photographs for landslide assessment: two case histories; with N. Dixon & J.H. Chandler) 

2006: D.P. Neuffer (Mechanisms of slope failure in Valles Marineris, Mars; with R.A. Schultz)

2005: N. J. Rosser (Terrestrial laser scanning for monitoring the process of hard rock coastal cliff erosion; with D.N. Petley, M. Lim, S. A. Dunning & R. Allison)

2004: S. Martino (Geological-evolutionary model of a gravity-induced slope deformation in the carbonate central Apennines (Italy); with A. Prestininzi & G. Scarascia Mugnozza)

2003: M. W. Branston (The application of Time-Lapse Microgravity for the Investigation and Monitoring of Subsidence at Northwich, Cheshire; with P. Styles)

2002: P. J. Phipps (Engineering geological constraints studies for highways schemes in the Republic of Ireland: the N6 Kinnegad to Athlone dual carriageway case study) 

2001: A. M. MacDonald (Aquifer properties of the Chalk of England; with D. J. Allen)

2000: R. J. Cullen (South Shore Cliffs, Whitehaven: Geomorphological survey and emergency cliff stabilization work; with A. D. Boggett & N. J. Mapplebeck)

1999: S. Barnes (Karstic groundwater flow characteristics in the Cretaceous Chalk aquifer, Northern Ireland)

1998: S. L. Hobbs (The hydrogeological effect of quarrying karstified limestone: options for prediction and mitigation: with J. Gunn)