Product has been added to the basket

HCNRG banner

Newly reformed, the Home Counties North group covers north London, Buckinghamshire, Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire and Northamptonshire.  We aim to provide a friendly local focus for geology enthusiasts from all backgrounds, including academia, those working in the geoscience community or hobbyists.  All ages very welcome.

Our committee is enthusiastic about providing around six events a year which cover a broad range of subject matter in the form of both fieldtrip and talks.  Our speakers will always be interesting and knowledgeable and we aim to assist younger members with their CPD.

Initially, evening talks will generally be located around Hatfield, Hemel Hempstead and Milton Keynes however as the group develops we will aim to accommodate our members to the best of our ability.

Download our 2013/2014 programme of events

Photo Competition

We are pleased to announce the winner of our photograph competition. Congratulations to Stuart Wagstaff for a stunning picture of Kensworth Quarry in Bedfordshire.

Our Events

Following the incredible success of our double event curry night we are really looking forward to our next events and look forward to seeing you there again.

Your search for events returned the following 1 results.

Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results

AGM and Talk on Chalk Mines

22 April 2014

Venue: Sir Robert McAlpine

  • AGM
  • Lecture
Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results
Get Involved

If you would like to join us, are interested in finding out more or have any ideas for future events, please email us or contact any of our committee members.



Sophy Crosby


Geoff Faro


Louise Cox

Ordinary Members

Catherine Everett
Dave Brook
Jessica Macdonald
Mark Brandon
Jonathan Vetterlein
Seamus Lefroy-Brooks
Alistair Dewar 
Kevin Fielding

Co-opted Members

Mel Green
John Wong
Sarah Smart

Ex-Officio Members

David Jones