Product has been added to the basket

Awards, Grants and Bursaries

Society Awards

The Geological Society of London has been awarding medals for significant achievement in the Earth sciences since 1831, when its Senior Medal, the Wollaston, was first awarded to William Smith.

The Society now grants a large range of awards, including medals and funds, every year.  Our Awards page has a list of these, along with the citations and replies from award winners since 2001.

2017 Nominations

Fellows of the Society are invited to submit nominations for the Society’s Awards for 2017 to the Awards Committee.

Nominations should ideally be endorsed by several supporters to demonstrate wide support in the community. Proposers and supporters should not be from the nominee's institution or company (with the exception of the Lyell, Murchison, William Smith and Wollaston Funds – see Regulation), although it may be appropriate to obtain a statement from a company on an individual's contribution in the case of Awards in applied areas.  

Specialist and Regional Group Committees can make nominations. These need only be signed by the Chair of the Group, who should make it clear that they are representing the whole Committee. The Awards Committee will retain its discretion to move candidates to other categories of award if appropriate.

The criteria for the medals and funds is provided on the Awards page.

Nominations must be sent to Stephanie Jones no later than Friday, 30 September 2016 using the forms below.

Email to or post to:

Awards Secretary
Geological Society
Burlington House

Nomination forms

Nomination for a Medal - Form A
Nomination for the Distringuished Service Award - Form B
Nomination for the RH Worth Prize - Form C
Nomination for a Fund - Form D

Guidance notes for Society Awards

2017 Research Grants

A number of research funds are awarded each year in support of geoscientific projects. The 2017 round of Society Research Funds is now open for applications. All applications must reach the society by 1 February 2017. For more details please visit the grant pages:

2016 Society Awards

The Society is delighted to announce the names of the winners of its medals and funds and offers all its heartiest congratulations. See the list of 2016 winners.

The President’s Award winners are Huw Clarke and Ann Rowan.

The Awards were presented on President’s Day on 8 June 2016

The Fermor Fund

A number of grants from the Fermor Fund were awarded in 2012. See the projects that were supported.