Product has been added to the basket


The Society is governed by a Council of 23 members, including the President, up to three Vice-Presidents and four honorary secretaries. Council members are elected by the Fellowship.

Council is chaired by the President, who is elected for a two-year term. It meets five times each year.

All members of Council are bound by the Society’s Declarations of Interests policy.

Members of Council 2015/2016

Click on the pictures below to read a short biography of each member of Council.

David ManningProf David Manning


Expertise: Mineralogy


Natalyn AlaMrs Natalyn Ala

Secretary, Professional Matters

Expertise: Hydrogeology


Rick BrassingtonMr Rick Brassington

Expertise: Hydrogeology



Malcolm BrownMr Malcolm Brown

President designate

Expertise: Petroleum Geology


Liv CarrollMiss Liv Carroll

Expertise: Mineral Exploration and Mining



Nigel CassidyDr Nigel Cassidy

Expertise: Geophysics



Angela CoeDr Angela Coe

Expertise: Sedimentology and Stratigraphy



Jim Coppard

Mr Jim Coppard

Expertise: Mineral Exploration



Jane DottridgeMrs Jane Dottridge

Expertise: Hydrogeology



Chris EcclesMr Chris Eccles

Vice President

Expertise: Engineering Geology


Marie EdmondsDr Marie Edmonds

Secretary, Science

Expertise: Igneous Petrology, Volcanology and Geochemistry


Graham Goffey Mr Graham Goffey


Expertise: Petroleum Geology


Tricia Henton Mrs Tricia Henton

Diversity Champion

Expertise: Environmental Geology


David HopkinsMr David Hopkins

Expertise: Extractive Industries



Dave JonesMr David Jones

Vice President

Expertise: Hydrogeology


Jennifer McKinleyDr Jennifer McKinley

Expertise: Geographical Information Science and Geostatistics



David NorburyDr David Norbury

Expertise: Engineering Geology



Colin NorthDr Colin North

Secretary, Publications

Expertise: Sedimentology


Christine PeirceProf Christine Peirce

Expertise: Marine Geophysics



Katherine RoyseDr Katherine Royse

Expertise: Environmental Geology



Keith SeymourMr Keith Seymour

Expertise: Hydrogeology



Lucy SlaterDr Lucy Slater

Expertise: Petroleum Geology and Geophysics



Michael YoungMr Michael Young

Secretary, Foreign & External Affairs

Expertise: Geophysics


Read a summary of Council members' expertise and backgrounds

Council Meetings

Council Meetings 2015/2016:

  • 17 June 2015
  • 23-23 September 2015 (residential)
  • 25 November 2015
  • 3 February 2016
  • 6 April 2016

Council Meeting Minutes: