Product has been added to the basket

Petroleum Group

Petroleum Group
   At the leading edge of petroleum geoscience...


The Petroleum Group is the Geological Society’s specialist group dedicated to petroleum exploration and production.  The Petroleum Group’s mandate is to advance the study and understanding of petroleum geology, through conferences, workshops, publications and the encouragement of research in addition to representing the Society in respect of petroleum geological issues.  Primarily this is achieved through a series of regular conferences, supported by the oil industry and the Geological Society.  The group is run by a management committee drawing on participants from industry and academia.  The committee also organises an annual dinner and makes several awards including the Silver Medal and Young Explorer's Award.  On a less frequent basis, the committee is central to organisation of the ‘Barbican’ conference series – the Petroleum Geology Conferences, of which the seventh since 1974 took place in 2009.

Fundamentally, the Petroleum Group aims to encourage the sharing and dissemination of information at the leading edge of petroleum geoscience.

Please offer material for inclusion in the website and comments for future improvements and feedback to Laura Griffiths.


Fellows and Candidate Fellows of the Geological Society are welcome to join the Petroleum Group. Please email Laura Griffiths if you wish to join. If you confirm in your email that you are happy to receive information about Society activities by email, we will ensure that you are included in regular email updates, including those on Petroleum Group activities.

If you are not a Fellow of the Society, you are nonetheless welcome to attend Petroleum Group conferences. However, Geological Society Fellows can usually book at preferential rates and it may therefore be benificial to join the Society.

Our Events

Your search for events returned the following 5 results.

Showing 1 to 5 of 5 results

Recognising the Limits of Reservoir Modelling - and how to overcome them

04 - 05 March 2015

Venue: Elphinstone Hall, University of Aberdeen

  • Conference

Sedimentology of Paralic Reservoirs: Recent Advances and their Applications

18 - 19 May 2015

Venue: The Geological Society, Burlington House

  • Conference

8th Petroleum Geology of Northwest Europe Conference

28 - 30 September 2015

Venue: Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre

  • Conference

Petroleum Geology of the Black Sea

06 - 07 October 2015

Venue: The Geological Society, Burlington House, London

  • Conference

East Africa: From Research to Reserves

13 - 15 April 2016

Venue: The Geological Society, Burlington House, London

  • Conference
Showing 1 to 5 of 5 results

Petroleum Group Activities



Malcolm Brown
Executive Vice President, Exploration
BG Group
Thames Valley Park


Dr Joyce Neilson
Carbonates and Petroleum Geology
Department of Geology and Petroleum Geology
University of Aberdeen
Kings College
AB24 3UE
Tel: 01224 273457


Helen Smyth
97 Jubilee Avenue
Milton Park
OX14 4RW

Communications Officer

Ben Kilhams
Nederlandse Aardolie Maatschappij B.V.
A company within Shell Upstream International Europe
PO Box 28000
9400 HH Assen - NL
Tel: +31 (0)592362384

Committee Members

  • Caroline Gill
  • Catherine Burgess
  • Mike Ashton
  • Neville Jones
  • Meriem Bertouche
  • Teresa Ceraldi
  • Dan Le Heron
  • Andy Sims
  • Ken McCaffrey
  • Hugh Dennis
  • Simone Silcock
  • John Argent
  • Fiona MacAulay
  • Mark Bentley
  • Andrei Panaiotu