Product has been added to the basket

Finance and Planning Committee

The Finance and Planning Committee reports to Council.


  • To ensure the financial health of the Society, through:
    • maximising revenue generation and cost effectiveness, consistent with its charitable aims;
    • transparent accounting and financial reporting mechanisms;
    • effective financial planning and investment management.
  • To ensure that the Society sets and delivers an ambitious but achievable business plan in pursuit of its strategy.

Terms of reference

  • To set the annual budget timetable, and to work with staff and other committees to develop revenue and capital budgets.
  • To monitor performance against the budget throughout the year.
  • To oversee production of financial accounts shortly after the financial year end for approval by Council.
  • To ensure that all monies and investments held in the Society’s various Funds are properly managed.
  • To coordinate fundraising and sponsorship activities.
  • To work with staff and other committees to maintain and update a rolling three-year business plan for the delivery of the Society’s strategy, and to monitor progress against it.
  • To advise Council on other financial and business planning matters.




Other members

Foreign and External Affairs Secretary,
Professional Matters
Secretary, Publications Secretary,
Up to three recent members of Council

Staff members

Head of Strategy and External Relations (secretary),
Executive Secretary,
Head of Finance,
Director of Publishing, Library and Information Services

Officers serve throughout their terms of office. Former Councillors will usually serve for up to five years, and will be appointed on retirement from Council or within two years of this date.

Method of working

There will be at least four meetings of the Committee each year. Further business may be conducted by email.

Committee Members


  • Dr Adam Law (Treasurer)

Council Members

  • Mrs Natalyn Ala (Sec,Professional)
  • Prof Alan Lord (Sec, Foreign & External Affairs)
  • Dr Colin North (Sec, Publications)

Other Members

  • Dr Iain Bartholomew
  • Prof Andy Fleet
  • Mrs Tricia Henton
  • Mr Michael Rosen


  • Mr Edmund Nickless (Executive Secretary)
  • Mr Jonathan Silk (Director of Finance and Operations)
  • Mr Nic Bilham (Director of Policy and Communications)
  • Mr Neal Marriott (Director of Publishing, Library and Information Services)

Reporting Committees